Endocrine Abstracts (2004) 8

Society for Endocrinology Medal Lecture

Richard Eastell, Bone Metabolism Group, University of Sheffield, Sheffield, UK Abstract

Professor Eastell is Professor of Bone Metabolism at the University of Sheffield where he is also Director of Research for Medicine. He is the Research Dean for the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, and Deputy Director of the Division of Clinical Sciences (North) at the University of Sheffield. He is also the Director for Research and Development, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Trust. He is an Honorary Consultant Physician in metabolic bone disease at the Northern General Hospital, Sheffield. He qualified in medicine from Edinburgh in 1977. He trained at the Mayo Clinic under Dr B L Riggs for 5 years. He became a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of London in 1996, an honorary fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland in 1998 and a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, the Royal College of Pathology and the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2000.

He is the head of the Bone Metabolism Group and has an active research group in the pathophysiology, diagnosis and treatment of osteoporosis. He has published over 200 papers on osteoporosis and related topics. In 1997, he was awarded Hospital Doctor of the Year in the osteoporosis category, in 1998 he was awarded the Corrigan Medal of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland, and in 2003, was part of the team awarded the Queen's Anniversary Award to the University of Sheffield for the Health and Social Care of Older People. In 2004, he will be awarded the Kohn Foundation award from the National Osteoporosis Society and the Society of Endocrinology Medal. He is on the editorial board of Osteoporosis International, Osteoporosis Review, Clinical Endocrinology, Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism and Calcified Tissue International and is the president of the UK Bone and Tooth Society. He is the chairman of the programme organising committee for the joint IBMS and ECTS meeting in Geneva 2005, and Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Group of the National Osteoporosis Society. He is a member of the Arthritis Research Campaign Grants Committee and the MRC Physiological Medicine and Infections Board.

Article tools

My recent searches

No recent searches.

My recently viewed abstracts